Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Looking for Advice with UHC

Hi! I am new to all this, but hoping for a little advice.

My insurance only will cover 50% of weight loss surgery. I have UHC Choice Plus. Because I would have to pay so much out of pocket, I was leaning towards the lap band. The more I read up on the different surgeries though, I really feel that the Sleeve is the surgery for me.

I am seeking approval through my insurance, but when I called with the code (listed on this site), my insurance told me this code doesn't exist.

Does that just mean "my" insurance doesn't cover this code? Am I doing something wrong?

I can't afford the full surgery out of pocket... and not 100% sold on traveling to Mexico.

Any advice?

Thanks in advance!

Mel in Chicago

Hey ChiTown,

I thought I'd reply to your post since I didn't get any replies to my post about UHC requirements - that has been kind of frustrating. Maybe us UHCers are not a common group here. Anyway, I have the UHC HRA plan which covers WLS as any other procedure. The main thing I had to do was initiate the process through the Bariatric Resources Center before I scheduled any appointments. If you haven't already done so, you could try calling them to see if they can help you. This is from the benefits site:

Bariatric Resource Services is a program administered by UnitedHealthcare and its affiliates. For obesity surgery services to be considered Covered Health Services under the BRS program, you must contact Bariatric Resource Services and speak with a nurse consultant prior to receiving services. The member can access the BRS Service Centers of Excellence Programs at 1-888-936-7246.