Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Help

Hello Im Amber 23 From the UK, I'm weighing in at 324 pounds with a BMI of 55 and standing 5ft 6" - Im in some serious need of Advice. I have been considering a Gastric Bypass Band for nearly 2 years And have been trying to diet since i was 13. I have consulted my GP on many occasions and has sent many requests to the NHS to be considered for the surgery. Every request ( about 6 of them ) have been declined with the reason being " i am to over weight for the procedure ', even though i read that NHS must consider applicants with a BMI over 35. Now, I am considering in taking matters into my own hands and getting the procedure done abroad. Over the last 2 months i have done much research, have read the ups and downs, patients journeys but have also read the " gone wrong" surgerys which is one of my worries.

Last week i attempted to make contact with Someone for more advise from Frenchcosmeticsurgery.com, A lady called Tullia Law has sent me many emails, the latest one stating who my surgeon is ( Dr. Philip Vanden Borre) And what hospital i will be in ( Stedelijk ziekenhuis roeselare, Brugsesteenweg 90, 8800 roesekare, Belgium) . I find her very pushy even before any real contact has been made and i still have not received the advise i was after. Im worried of scams, i dont now who to trust as like many i dont want to part with any money for them to do a runner and never to be seen again.

Another website i have seen and have a little more confidence in is belgiumsurgeryservices.com. Id really appreciate if anyone could tell me if they have been down this websites route and how did they find it? Id like to know before i make contact as i dont want to email them just to be bombarded with more emails

Does anybody know about a doctor called Chris DeBruyne?

Id really appreciate any info, tips, advise etc On this procedure

Amber :)