Jump to content
×
Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

dlappjr

Gastric Sleeve Patients
  • Content Count

    457
  • Joined

  • Last visited

5 Followers

About dlappjr

  • Rank
    Bariatric Guru
  • Birthday 02/27/1979

About Me

  • Gender
    Male
  • Interests
    Golf, Billiards, Photography, Scuba Diving
  • Occupation
    Tech Ops
  • City
    Farmington
  • State
    MI
  • Zip Code
    48336

Recent Profile Visitors

2,389 profile views
For so long, I was the "healthy" fat guy. I stayed around 250 for most of my 20's. I could eat whatever crap I felt like and, while still overweight, was very active. I would golf, scuba dive, snowboard, play paintball, etc. I noticed right after I got engaged to my now-wife, I started putting on pounds. It got worse as I quit smoking and would replace that habit with a couple years of late night meals. They were mostly snack foods, but I was consuming a while bag of chips, or a while block of cheese with crackers. Almost every night. I got to a point where I was diabetic, every 6 months or so I would need an additional medication to try to control it. I needed to start eating better and exercising. Didn't we all at one point? When my Daughter was born in March of 2014, I knew I needed to be able to keep up with her. I was at my highest ever. 380lbs. In just 7 years I had gained almost 100lbs. My general Dr. suggested looking into weightless surgery. I was skeptical, and like most, that that was the easy way out and that I didn't need that. I started learning more about it and realized that it is just as hard, you put in just as much effort to eat right and get active. Suddenly I didn't care how I lost the weight, I just needed to lose it. My Wife and Daughter needed me to lose it too. So I started prepping and here I am. Full of energy, ready to work for it. Ready to offer help and guidance to anyone starting out who has so much stuff to sort through. My way isn't the only way, but if I can help somebody by offering suggestions or at least an understanding of what they are going through, then great. 
 
Goals for 2016:
 
Goal Weight- When I can run up to the gym (1.5miles each way) and work out then run back home, 3-4 times a week for several months, while not losing or gaining, while still eating healthy, wherever my body sits weight wise, is my goal.
 
Join a group of people to take long bike rides this summer. I want to be able to ride 30+ miles at a time
 
Run in the Detroit Turkey Trot 2016 (I may never be a big runner, but I want to try to do it once)
 
Continue to maintain a healthy lifestyle, both in exercise and diet
 
Continue to make new friends on bariatricpal.com, offer any experience in relation to someone else's struggle that I may be able to provide, and continue making new friends in my in-person support group here in Michigan.

Age: 42
Height: 5 feet 9 inches
Starting Weight: 380 lbs
Weight on Day of Surgery: 355 lbs
Current Weight: 256 lbs
Goal Weight: 220 lbs
Weight Lost: 124 lbs
BMI: 37.8
Surgery: Gastric Sleeve
Surgery Status: Post Surgery
First Dr. Visit: 04/28/2015
Surgery Date: 08/26/2015
Hospital Stay: 2 Days
Surgery Funding: Insurance
Insurance Outcome: 1st Letter Approval
dlappjr's Bariatric Surgeon
Madison Heights, Michigan 48374

PatchAid Vitamin Patches

×