Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Wow, it's been a strange couple of weeks. Until I met my surgeon a couple of weeks ago, I had planned on lap band. He discouraged me because of his research, and that of others, that lap band was not as successful long term as either VSG or RNY. So, after going into my own research mode, I decided that I'd rather have VSG than RNY unless the EGD showed that it would be better to go RNY. Well, today was the EGD and it turns out that I have Barrett's Esophagus and a hernia. Anyone else with Barrett's? Any suggestions?

Trust your surgeon :). The band and VSG are both notorious for GERD, with Barrett's, you want to protect your esophagus as much as possible so my semi-educated guess (I'm a physician assistant) is to agree with you that that your surgeon will recommend RNY in this case. On a personal note, take care of yourself. Please get your follow up EGDs when you are scheduled to and definitely don't ever smoke!!! Best of luck on your journey and please keep us updated!!!

HW 312, pre-op (RNY) 255, current weight 210

You bet! I quit smoking in 1989. I hope that old bad habit won't come back to haunt me. He took biopsies and I'll hear more about Barrett's , my personal results and where to go from here at my appointment next week.

I had a hiatal hernia but tested negative for Barrett's. I'm sorry to hear that you have it. I was planning on doing the RNY to begin with but was told by my surgeon that with the reflux I already have that the sleeve and lap band were not suggested for anyone with GERD.