Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Food vs vitamin bills

So obviously our grocery bills are going to be less since we aren't eating as much after surgery, but do you think it balances out after you've bought your Vitamins and Protein Drinks?

I am just starting out and I'm kind of blown away by how much everything cost: chewable Multivitamins, Calcium, Iron, sublingual B12. That's over $100 right there! Not including and Protein mixes (some that start in the $40s. )

Just my rant. :-) thanks for listening.

I was thinking about this last week. I think initially we invest in all our supplements, shakes etc. but they last a little while. I've found that I am spending less on food overall and the added expense of the supplements doens't really fill that void. I get to spend the extra money on new clothes! Now THERE is where I'm spending much more than I usually did. I do a lot of comparision shopping online for Vitamin deals,coupons etc. I found that Walmart stocked my fav. Protein Shake (Pure Protein) so that helped too. I stock up when they are on sale and it helps.

I think I'm coming out ahead in the long run. I'm cheap and stick with the Sam's Club/Walmart brand Vitamins. I probably spend about $1 per day on supplements.

If I drink a shake, that's about $1.50 - nowhere near what I was spending per meal.

It was normal for me to eat 2 lbs of meat in the evenings and that's at least $6 bucks, when I can catch meat on sale.

I was spending about $100 per week on food. Now it's around $45 or $50, including Protein drinks and Vitamins.< /p>

2 lbs of ground turkey and 2 cans of refried Beans is enough for at least 2 days of meals - roughly $6.

I figure the money I save on food will pay for my surgery in 3 - 4 years.