Jump to content
Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Monica Justice

Gastric Sleeve Patients
  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Monica Justice

  • Rank
  • Birthday 11/19/1966

About Me

  • Biography
    I'm 57, single, never married, no children. Been considering gastric sleeve surgery for a few years. Finally made the decision to follow through. Looking for input and advice on how to do this post-op.
  • Gender
  • Interests
    Baking, Reading, Watching TV
  • Occupation
    Business Officer
  • City
  • State
  • Zip Code
I have been considering WLS for several years.  I had to have an emergency hysterectomy in 2009 and since then I have put on an alarming amount of weight, 150-175 lbs.  I have high blood pressure and I am pre-diabetic. Every joint I have aches.  I have tried multiple diets, went to the gym and even had a trainer for a while.  I couldn't seem to lose more than 10 lbs.  I can't even look at myself in the mirror due to the weight gain.  I'm tired of reading in my doctor's notes that I am "obese".  Such an ugly word!  
I would have had the surgery a few years ago but it was not covered on my health plan at my employer.  I have since moved and changed employers and the surgery is now covered.  I understand this is not a quick fix and it's simply a tool.  I am not someone that seeks help, I am very independent and self-reliant.  However, in this instance I am going to welcome with open arms any advice or suggestions on how to get the most out of my new lifestyle.  

Age: 57
Height: 5 feet 10 inches
Starting Weight: 303.2 lbs
Weight on Day of Surgery:
Current Weight: 294 lbs
Goal Weight: 175 lbs
Weight Lost: 9.2 lbs
BMI: 42
Surgery: Gastric Sleeve
Surgery Status: Pre Surgery
First Dr. Visit: 03/20/2024
Surgery Date:
Hospital Stay: n/a
Surgery Funding: Insurance
Insurance Outcome: n/a

PatchAid Vitamin Patches