Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Advice needed regarding which surgery to get

Hello everyone! This is my first time posting anything to a forum, so please bear with me! I am 5' 5" and 225lbs. I went into my first surgery consult last night thinking that I wanted to have the gastric sleeve. Because I have a history of heartburn, and already take Protonix, my surgeon also suggested a gastric bypass. He said that there is a much greater risk of my heartburn getting much worse with the sleeve procedure vs gastric bypass. I also have type 2 diabetes, with A1C's always at or below 7. I take Jardiance and Metformin, although the Metformin had been prescribed originally for my PCOS. What has your experience been? How did you decide which surgery was best for you?

If you already have GERD the better surgery would be the RYN. I had terrible GERD and gastritis because of my first surgery and my surgeon suggested the RYN. I am now off my blood pressure meds, and my heart burn meds! A goof friend of mine had it and is now completely off her diabetic medication! By the way our stats are almost the same, only I am an inch taller.

VRox33, Hello, and I’m a newbie as well😅. When I saw surgeon last Oct. my mindset was same as yours—set on sleeve, and only sleeve. He asked re: acid reflux and yes, I do have it at times. His explanation and picture drawing of what happens to GERD/reflux after sleeve was a major let down, but I (secretly) still held hope for sleeve. As I researched more, and especially the very real experiences on these support boards, I realized he’s SO on target.