Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

I have read a few posts where people are talking about their weekly milk of magnesia day... How many people do this? Is it something people do regularly regardless or only when they feel "backed up" ?

Sent from my Z965 using BariatricPal mobile app

I just take it when I'm backed up - maybe once or twice a month. I do take a capful of Miralax every day, though.

I just take it when I'm backed up - maybe once or twice a month. I do take a capful of Miralax every day, though.
What does Miralax do? I'm brand new to all of these things such as milk of magnesia and so on.

the generic name is polyethylene glycol, so the brand name(s) might be different if you live outside of the US. It's just a mild laxative that's safe to use every day (well, unless you take a ton of it - but a capful or less is fine for daily use, according to my doctor). It's a tasteless powder you mix into beverages. A lot post-ops take it to stay on top of the Constipation issue.

the generic name is polyethylene glycol, so the brand name(s) might be different if you live outside of the US. It's just a mild laxative that's safe to use every day (well, unless you take a ton of it - but a capful or less is fine for daily use, according to my doctor). It's a tasteless powder you mix into beverages. A lot post-ops take it to stay on top of the Constipation issue.
This is very good to know and I completely see how this could be helpful. :) Thank you!

I take miralax (clear lax) = 1 capful

2 magnesium citrate caplets

1 gel cap of colace (250mg)

12g whole psyllium husks dissolved in Lipton decaff Apple Spice Tea (room temp)

100+oz Fluid per day

emphasize leafy greens and lots o' cruciferous veggies and indols (cauliflowers and broccolis)

:) It's my perfect recipe for throne room harmony.

I've never used it. I don't take any type of laxative or Fiber at all. I haven't had any problems with bowel movements.