Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Hi!

I am new to the VSG community. I have been thinking about a lap band for 10+ years, but my sister informed me the sleeve procedure about a month ago.

So I have decided to actually pursue the single incision sleeve procedure and I need to do my due diligence and ask if anyone that has had the sleeve procedure done, do they have any regrets about it? If so, what are they? Has anyone had the single incision procedure done? Likes/dislikes about it?

Like most of you guys, I will have to go to Mexico in order to afford the surgery (completely excluded from my policy from work and I couldn't find another policy on Healthcare.gov that didn't exclude it)!

I have basically OCD'ed researched about the sleeve procedure and just wanted to introduce myself and ask a few questions. Everything that I have read so far on this forum has been positive, aside from a few haters (which are everywhere)!

I look forward to hearing back from you guys and hearing about your experiences too!

Thanks so much!

Sally

I've had both the band and the sleeve. I personally found the band to be worthless. I had the vsg 2 months back, and it has helped much more so than the band.

Having said that I can say, and I really want to drive it home, that neither surgery will do much for you if you are not prepared to stick with the eating diet.

My advice to you is to find a post-op diet recommendation and follow it, not for one week, or one month, but maybe 6 months or so. If after six months, you still feel like you can follow it, go through with the surgery. If not, take some time and reassess everything.

Some people find when they have VSG they lose their appetite, this did not happen with me, so from a dieting standpoint I don't really feel any different 2 months post op than I did pre-op. Of course the first couple weeks when you are doing the majority of your healing, the inflammation will definitely present restriction.