Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

New face.. New Make up

I am open to any suggestions as this is an unsure area for me...

I would never claim I knew how to properly put makeup on my old face but now it seems like I really am missing the mark...

I have been think about when I learned to put make up on and it was around 14 messing with my grandma's old stuff in her bathroom.. Loved that black eye liner and dried up mascara...

Until I was 16 I had never even bought new makeup and then it was wet and wild.. Needless to say I was overweight and covered with acne then and have only ever seen my

Overweight face and neck all made up.. So now on my almost 40 year old, 190 pound face things just don't look right.. Now the makeup has gotten a little better in brands..Cover girl or similar but application doesn't work the same...

I was thinking of maybe going to even more expensive makeup seeing if that would help..

I am a teacher so makeup is part of my daily route..

Would love any suggestions about brands or how you adjusted..

If you're unsure of how to apply the makeup, I don't think the brand or level of investment you make will help much- kind of like thinking if you buy expensive art supplies it will end up making you an awesome painter ;)

I'd suggest going into a place like Sephora, Bare Minerals (my brand) or Merle Norman and asking them for a makeover- unless you don't mind people watching you, then you could sit in the middle of a JCPenney for the same thing, but as a former teacher myself, the thought of doing that in a place where my students could saunter by would be a living nightmare. I'm sure those folks would be very patient with allowing you to ask questions and even practice on yourself while they were there. Let them know your level of expertise, what you do for a living, and how much time you're willing to spend on your makeup each morning, and I bet you'll get set up in no time! :)