Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

New Ghrelin Research

interesting study, thanks for posting

Thanks! Just read it very interesting :-)

Good read. Thanks

I am a 3 yr vet of VSG and have recently begin experimenting with low calorie again (600cals) On my low cal days, it's not that I feel "hunger" per se, but I do feel empty and the desire to eat is overwhelming, especially as day turns into night. At night I think constantly about food and liken it to the obsessive need of a junkie or alcoholic :(. It is and is not, hunger. I can remember vividly what it felt like, physically and mentally, to be completely indifferent to food - how it was immediately after surgery.

I wonder if naturally skinny people, the kind of people who take one or two bites of chocolate cake and actually wrap up THE LEFTOVERS (!!) and actually forget they are in the fridge until they go BAD (!!!) ... I wonder if it will be proven that those people have almost no ghrelin in their system. Has a ghrelin suppressor been invented yet?

Has a ghrelin suppressor been invented yet?

Yes, it's called VSG. :)

When I was researching whether or not to get the sleeve, I came upon something about ghrelin and it just described me to a tee. When you get the sleeve, they remove the fundus part of your stomach where most of the ghrelin is made, so you feel less (or not at all) hungry at first. We will begin making more ghrelin again, but not nearly as much. It sealed the deal for me to get this surgery. I'm only 7 days out, but I'm loving my sleeve. The hunger is only barely there and only when my stomach is truly empty. I would never have been able to stay on a diet this low calorie for even two days if it weren't for my sleeve. It rocks!!!

Ghrelin comes back though' date=' that's what many sleeve vets come to realize ...[/quote']

Do you think it's to the same extent? I used to be hungry constantly and I'm so hoping that doesn't return.