Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Confused: Lapband or Sleeve

Ok so I was 100% sure I wanted the LAP-BAND?. I've been doing research for about 6 months and it made the most sense for me. I am a single mom of a 2 1/2 year old boy (and I mean SINGLE ! No man at all and no family except my sister who will only babysit once in a blue moon) So if anything happens to me I have little support. But I went to my seminar yesterday and learned about the sleeve. It is less drastic than the bypass but still body altering. And the woman made it sound like there was very little chance to loose 100+ pounds with the band. I am 310 and my goal weight is 150-160 depending on where I feel confortable. Now I know that wls is just a tool and I have to change my lifestyle and I am ready to do that. But I hesitate to spend so much money on the band and not lose my excess weight. But I am not sure how I will manage with the time off work with the sleeve. And the thought of something so permanant scares the shit out of me. I would love to hear from people who changed from LAP-BAND? to sleeve or just people who have had the sleeve especially single mothers. I am just so confused and want to do the right thing. Thanks!

I've had both. And, I can tell you that the band sucks, and by the stats that are out, you will only lose 50% of your excess weight in 3 years.

It has the lowest and slowest weight loss.

1 in 4 patients (25%) will have another surgery due to complications with the band. If you're paying, think twice, cut once.