Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Couch 2 5K

Cross posted from my blog:

So, as all of you know who follow my blog, I haven't been the best a the big E....yes, sad to say, but my exercise has been lacking. So, while surfing YouTube a few days ago, I noticed a lot of those who had WLS were trying/doing/completed this Couch 25k program. For those of you who aren't familiar with it, its a 9 week program that trains you to run a 5K. Its for beginners so I thought, well, I'm a beginner, I'll try it.

Lemme just start by saying that, its been more than 20 years since I have jogged. Now, mind you, the last time I jogged, my body was ripped like Britanny Spears (ok, maybe not that hot, but I was an athlete at least..ha ha) Sooooooo....the workout goes like this: work out 3 times a week, walking and running in intervals (more walking than running at first) for 30 minutes. You can download various podcasts with someone guiding you when to walk/jog. OK, I got my 3 sports bras on, my skin tight leggins, and my running shoes..I get on the treadmill and start, hmmm..as I'm warming up I'm thinkin I'm going to rock this workout!! HA HA HA. I can report that I DIDN'T QUIT, and I DID all 8 (was it 8? I coudn't count much less breathe) sixty second jogs...however, I was seriously sweatin, huffin & puffin...but I DID IT!!! I am so proud of myself, even though I was jiggling in places I didn't know a person could jiggle..lmao! I felt like my body just 'woke up'! I know tomorrow I will be looking for the Ben-Gay or Icy-Hot, but for now, I'm damn proud of myself!! Friday is my next workout day, so wish me luck and stay tuned!!

Congrats Shontel ! ! ! I have a friend that loves Couch to 5K. I really suck at jogging, or running, and find it really awkward so I can't get into it. I've tried and tried so many times, and just can't do it.

Good luck and keep it up ! ! !

Shontel,

I'm so proud of you...run a mile or two for me until my knee heals up ok???