Jump to content
Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!


LAP-BAND Patients
  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

1 Follower

About RubyEllen

  • Rank
  • Birthday 05/15/1952
I've been obese most of my life. I had a brief period in my late 20's when I was almost normal weight. I lectured for Weight Watchers, worked as a nurse in a hospital (a very physically demanding job) , and took dance lessons (ballet) several times a week. I got pregnant (a huge blessing), but that was the end of being a normal weight. I've been piling on the pounds ever since. I've tried Medifast, Weight Watchers, the Insulin Resistance diet and others. I can usually lose 40 lbs and then I get discouraged and it comes back. Right now I'm very limited in the activity that I can do. My joints hurt. I get short of breath and my back hurts when I walk very far. I'm eager to get more active. I don't have grandkids yet and I want to be able to play with them. I also need a LAP for them to sit on! I want to fit into an airplane seat so I can travel to see my kids. My son is getting married Labor Day weekend 2010 and I want to dance with him at his wedding. He did Musical Theater in high school, so he's a great dancer. I need to lose 20 lbs more, as my insurance requires a certain weight loss prior to surgery. My papers and pre op things are done. The surgeon says I'm a good candidate. I'm eager to be banded.

Age: 71
Height: 5 feet 6 inches
Starting Weight: 371 lbs
Weight on Day of Surgery:
Current Weight: 355 lbs
Goal Weight: 200 lbs
Weight Lost: 16 lbs
BMI: 57.3
Surgery: LAP-BAND
Surgery Status: Pre Surgery
First Dr. Visit: 07/30/2009
Surgery Date:
Hospital Stay: n/a
Surgery Funding: n/a
Insurance Outcome: n/a
RubyEllen's Bariatric Surgeon

PatchAid Vitamin Patches