Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Weight loss WITHOUT surgery?!?

Why do I keep trying to do this on my own without surgery? I have been a professional dieter for over 20 years. Up and down. Up and down. I've gotten to the point where I don't want to try it on my own anymore because I know that I won't be successful and lose anything significant. I'm about 80-100 pounds overweight and I just need to do it! My insurance won't cover any type of WLS so I guess that keeps holding me back. Plus, I guess in the back of my head I'm afraid I will fail at this too. Thoughts? I need to do this. I feel like I've wasted 20 years trying to make this work. Thanks:)

I can totally relate, except I'd been dieting over 35 years. I've gained and lost probably 400lbs. I'm afraid to do the math!! When my weight was creeping up again, I started running through my diet repertoire to decide which one to go on next, but I was sure I'd just gain it back so I had a consultation with my surgeon and never looked back. I'm sorry your insurance doesn't cover it. But if there is any way you can swing it financially, do it!! I have zero regrets. It's been a bit of a roller coaster and I've had a small regain, which I'm losing now, but all in all, I'm a success!!

Ugh I'm sorry your insurance wont cover it. I can't tell you "just eat healthy and exercise" because I'd feel like a hypocrite. Plus you mentioned you've been up and down with diets for so long. But what I will tell you is that I hate diets. Lifestyle change is the key. If you decide to get this surgery, I'd recommend seeing a psychologist/therapist regularly so that you can break the "inevitable failure" cycle mentally. I went through the same thing.
To be 100% honest the fear of failure can be a huge motivator.
You got this!

Hope this helps :-)

SD: 12/14/16
SW: 268lbs
CW: 224lbs
GW: 160lbs

Sent from my iPhone using the BariatricPal App