Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Have You Always Had a Weight Problem?

I'm just curious for those seeking the VSG. Have you always had a weight problem or has this been something you developed in adulthood?

I've been obese since childhood and lost a significant amount of weight (170 pounds) using Weight Watchers about five years ago, but gained it back and then some. Keeping weight off is definitely a challenge!

This would be a good poll question.

Yes, I had a 33 BMI when I graduated from high school.

I've been healthy to overweight most of my life, obese about 2 years ages 35 - 36; 10 years ages 42-52, then the past year. I'm 54.

I have been obese from birth-lol. I can remember wearing boy husky jeans in the third grade. I graduated from high school over 300lbs. I am the 12th child and all of my siblings are obese! I am so thankful for the surgery! Now three of my siblings have scheduled the seminar. I am excited about the future for us all....Take care

I had 'puppy fat' as a child but wasn't really overweight. When I reached my teens, I was about 116 llbs and stayed that was until I was pregnant with my first son at 27 years old. Six months after that birth I was pregnant again and a year after the second birth, my weight sky rocketed when my thyroid stopped working. This was about 30 years ago. It took a further 8 years to get pregnant again and he weight 13 llbs at birth!

Not an excuse, just the facts. I hate auto immune diseases. :(

Kate

I was actually a scrawny little kid. My weight problem began when I hit puberty. I had a couple of nice years where I had just enough weight on me to be curvy and desirable, but by the end of high school I was obese.

My BMI has been at or above obese my entire adult life. I was an average sized child and started gaining weight as a teen. My weight got out of control after high school.

yes and no