Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Calling All Veterans (at least 2 years post op)

Hi All

I'm a newbie to this site, and am currently going through the pre-op clearance process. I am 90% sure this is the decision for me (sleeve), however, I still have some doubts. What I am most concerned about is the maintenance phase of this journey. (Is it weird to have nerves about that part so early in the game??). I've just completed a 1 year cognitive behavioral program to help change my relationship with food (this will always be a work in progress--never "cured"), and see a nutritionist weekly (even before surgery consultation). I am trying to begin following some of the bariatric guidelines now (drinking Water 30 min before meals, eating slowly, chewing a lot, being mindful of meals and not multitasking/inhaling food) I'm hoping this will introduce me to the structure I will adhere to the rest of my post-surgery.

Here are my burning questions for the vets out there who've had this surgery 2 years ago or more (that are past the honeymoon phase and have had some time under their belt in maintenance):

1. Did you ever find you were subject to weight gain, even if you followed the "rules/guidelines" (monitored Protein, Water, 30 min in between h20/meals etc)

2. If you did steer off course for a bit of time and happened to gain weight---did the weight come off when you went back to the "old rules"? I guess what I'm asking here---is do/did you find weight loss just as difficult as when you were heavier?

My personal nightmare is to go through this surgery, and gain it all back. I am not a fast food eater, I don't even eat big portions. I am a sugar addict and while I often go for days without eating sugar/sugar products (flour/pasta/rice etc), I will wind up in a state where I'm binging like crazy. (Still working on this--will be a lifetime battle)

Thoughts/Pearls of Wisdom?