Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Trying to decide VSG vs RNY

HI I am new to the process. I am about 5' 3 and weigh about 325... last I was weighed. My surgeon indicated I could be approved for either rny or vsg assuming my testing doesn't show any reflux issues. I do have it occasionally but I don't take daily medicine for it. I assumed he would have a stronger opinion and give me more pros and cons of each ( I plan to see other surgeons before my final decision).

But until my next surgeon apt let me know what you think the pros and cons of each. I want to loose at least 150 lbs.

Thanks for your help in advance.

From what my surgeon told me it was a no brainer for the RNY. sleep apnea, hi BP, high cholesterol, GERD, and diabetes.

From what I was told, RNY loses weight faster, and has a better success rate of keeping the weight off. I was told that sleeves have a 33% chance of gaining all the weight back. I am proud to be a kangaroo!

My Dr. recommended the RNY over the Sleeve, because of the Diabetes and being on insulin for over 2 years. I have occasional reflux and high cholesterol. I have been planning the sleeve for over a year but the surgeon says I would do better with RNY. I am more nervous, still very excited.

I went with RNY because I had acid reflux pre-surgery. I didn't want to take the risk of it getting any worse (it doesn't *always* get worse with the sleeve, but it often does)

Up to you. That's a choice you have to make yourself.

Pros to the sleeve: less risk, more common, no stomach re-routing, permanent. No dumping syndrome. Continuous weight loss even after 2 years.

Gastric by pass pros: can be reversed if needed. Re-routes your intestines so you can experience dumping syndrome if you do not make dramatic diet changes. Weight loss is quick.

Sent from my iPhone using the BariatricPal App