Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

I had my first visit with the surgeon today. I'm pretty excited! Anyone else just beginning their journey as well? What are some of your requirements?

Recently my insurance (BCBS NC) has changed the requirements to include a 12 month diet prior to seeking surgery :(, but the office I chose informed me they've submitted a patients info recently to the same insurance company without the actual diet but with a lot of documentation and it has been approved so I have my fingers crossed!! I have several co-morbidities and a lot of weight loss attempts

Sent from my iPhone using the BariatricPal App

I am just beginning my journey as well. I had my first consukt on January 10th. My requirements are that I have to lose 10% of my body weight which is 28 pounds, I have to have biweekly weigh ins to know I am losing weight. I have to have a PAP smear done, chest xray and gallbladder ultrasound, I also have to stop smoking 6 weeks prior to surgery (I dont smoke cigarettes, just weed), Ive already had all of my blood work done and the EKG. And lastly the psych evulation I have to doa. Luckily I dont have to do a 3 month or 6 month supervised diet. I can have a surgery date depending on how fast I get all the things checked off my list. So Im shooting for March, Im just worried I wont be able to do march because it will cost me about $6000 that I dont have, but they said if I can come up with half they can work with me....so depending on my finances I may have to wait until May unfortunately. I wish you the best of luck on your journey!!

Goodness.. 6000$!?!?

They have pretty much all my pre-op testing scheduled for this coming week, excited but nervous.

I still need my EKG, I don't know when I'll have that

Good luck to you too!!

I'm just starting out too. My insurance requires a 3 month medically supervised diet. I started that in November.

My first surgical visit, to meet my surgeon, is 1/30/17. I'm very excited!