Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Exercise before surgery?

Hello all....I am just beginning my journey of getting approved for surgery. I am wondering if anyone started working out with weights prior to surgery? I am wondering if this would help me tone up some to prevent some of the loose skin as I would never be able to afford plastic surgery. Thank you all for all that you have shared so far!!

Sent from my SCH-I535 using the BariatricPal App

I dieted and exercised pre-op, lost about 12 lbs prior to surgery. I highly recommend strength training as part of whatever you do.

It probably will have no effect on loose skin, it will however help with weight loss and toning.

I have worked out with weights off and on most of my teenage and adult life. I carry more muscle than many because of this and it skews my BMI significantly. However, I hadn't worked out seriously for at least 6 months before starting my 4-week pre-op diet...

Since starting the pre-op diet, I have been doing a full-body superset workout, 3-times per week (M/W/F), with cardio afterwards (1 hr. total time). On my off days, I'm pretty active trying to finish some remodeling projects before surgery, so I keep busy. If I didn't, I would likely do additional cardio on the off days.

I think working out with weights and the cardio have definitely helped with my pre-op weight loss and excess "bloat". I would highly recommend starting some form of exercise prior to your surgery. Weights are a great option that may keep you from losing as much muscle tissue during your weight loss. If you keep it up post-surgery, it will tone your body and help fill in portions of your body that used to be fat with lean muscle. This will at the very least, make it feel like you have less excess skin.

My two cents. Good luck with whatever you decide to do!