Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

I have been participating in a bariatric surgery program for four months, and before that, an Intensive Outpatient Program (IOP) for eating disorders for eight months. The IOP required twelve hours per week of nutrition, supported eating groups, individual and group therapy, movement therapy and dialectical behavioral therapy (DBT).

I have completed my two sleep studies, my psych eval and my endoscopy. I learned from the endoscopy that I had an ulcer, so I completed two weeks of an intensive regimen of antibiotics (blech!). I start my CPAP tomorrow. I have also completed six weeks of Physical Therapy for a torn meniscus and learned all kinds of fun things I can do in the pool while the knee heals (or not). I decided that rather than pursue knee surgery, it made more sense to keep working towards weight loss because it is probably the weight, combined with running and jazzercise, yoga and a feeble attempt at tennis that injured the knee. (I weighed 250 lbs. and am still up there at 243.)

So I went in to my appointment today hoping that maybe they could finally schedule me for surgery. I was delighted to find I'd lost five lbs this month ( a total of 8 in the last three months). It's not a huge number but is extraordinary for me to have lost three months in a row! But then when I met with my team they told me the surgeon had had a falling out with the hospital administration and left. They had just begun searching for a replacement. They are referring everyone who is close to surgery out as the delay will probably mean a minimum of six months.