Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Sewing your own clothes

About a year ago I bought a sewing machine, something I had NO experience with before then. I bought it on a whim really, but since have enjoyed teaching myself how to make simple things like bags, cushion covers etc.

ANYWAY, I had this grand idea that as my clothes get too big I would make them into smaller clothes that I could still wear. I have no experience at all with sewing clothes though haha, and wanted to see if anyone else does this? I'd love to be able to share ideas with others.

Jo x

My wife is a professional seamstress. The same thought crossed my mind. But it didn't work out for me. I had RNY gastric bypass surgery and the weight came off so fast that it was totally impractical. Since you are a sleeve patient and since your type of surgery means that weight comes off generally at a slower pace, it might work for you.

I did find that belts came in very handy. Also a western leather belt can be cut down and new holes punched so that I will track with you weight loss and still not look altered.

If you want to tackle altering your clothes, why not give it a try? Keep in mind that things can be taken in just so much before they look like clown costumes.

Example, a skirt that has an off-center pleat or two (perhaps at the front of one leg) can be taken in only a little or the pleats will be in a weird place. I hope that tells you what I'm getting at. The simpler the garment, the longer it's altered life will be, but there are limits no matter what.

You might want to take a class before risking your wardrobe.