Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Career advancement as a result of new found confidence?

I'm still in the pre-op stages, but I'm curious if anyone has experienced career growth or success that they believe is correlated to their weight loss? I am at a career plateau at the moment where I'm on the cusp of a breakout into management, but I often times feel like my weight either deters me from taking control of certain situations and opportunities; or other people do not see past my weight and respect me as a businesswoman. I often think about all the things I would do if I were not overweight, self-conscious, and in pain all of the time. One of them is definitely to be fearless and take control of my career. I'm just curious if anyone has realized this type of goal in their weight loss journey? I'd love to hear your stories.

Yes! I have been a bookkeeper/admin assistant forever. Year after year I went into work, stared at a computer screen filled with numbers all day, and sat at my desk eating Cheetos to combat the boredom. I got laid off several months back. So there I was looking for another job.

I got annoyed one afternoon at the thought of keeping the books straight at yet another company that needed someone to come in and correct mistakes in accounting. So I replied to an ad I saw for a company that teaches CPR etc. I had never even taken a CPR class. In the reply I sent them I said I knew nothing about CPR but I was going to resort to self mutilation if I had to stare at a computer screen anymore. Lol. Well...the owner called me and we talked for about 45 minutes.