Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Am I losing enough weight post-op?

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting. I was sleeved on 5/11/16. Basically, 2 weeks ago. I was 222 when I checked into the hospital, 233 when I left the hospital and this morning I was 205. I feel like I'm barely losing weight. I guess j thought it would practically melt off!! What was everyone else's weight loss like right after surgery?

It's different for everyone. It isn't a race. it isn't about how much you can lose in X amount of time. Especially for the rift month to six weeks. your body has one overriding goal - healing from the trauma of surgery. Weight loss is secondary to that as far as your body is concerned. Follow your postop instructions, and you will be successful!

You think 17 lbs in two weeks is barely losing? What were you expecting?

Couple pieces of advice looking forward:

--you are very likely about to hit a stall that will last a couple of weeks. Stay off the scale if that will upset you.

--30+ lbs per month (which is what you would be at if your rate of loss stayed the same) is almost unheard of, especially for women. So you should expect your long-term rate of weight loss to slow down significantly. If it doesn't, you can be pleasantly surprised, but in no way should you expect to keep losing at the incredibly fast rate you are losing right now. Enjoy it while you can.

--don't look to compare your rate of weight loss to other people's. I know it is tempting but it never ends well. "Comparison is the thief of joy" -- Teddy Roosevelt. Though to be honest I have never heard of a woman losing as fast as you are post op so maybe it would make you happy!

That's over a pound a day! Have you ever loss that much before on a diet? I hate to tell you but you will shortly see a stall for a week or 2 and then HOPEFULLY a 2-3lb a week if you exercise regularly.