Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

newbie here with some questions

Hello all!

I recently went to a seminar for the sleeve and have my consultation with the DR in june. I really wanted the sleeve but my insurance will only cover the lapband, so I am going to go with that.

I am 400lbs. I am young but have high cholesterol, high bp (controlled with meds) arrythmia (cardiologist cleared me for surgery) and am risk of heart disease. so it needs to happen. I have been seeing a dietitian and have done many diets. I lose a little bit and thats it.

I am concerned it will not help me to lose enough weight to get to where I want to be (180)

Anyone in here around my weight and get down to that goal weight?

Any pros/cons you can share with me?

I am excited to get it done already!!

Hello all!

I recently went to a seminar for the sleeve and have my consultation with the DR in june. I really wanted the sleeve but my insurance will only cover the lapband, so I am going to go with that.

I am 400lbs. I am young but have high cholesterol, high bp (controlled with meds) arrythmia (cardiologist cleared me for surgery) and am risk of heart disease. so it needs to happen. I have been seeing a dietitian and have done many diets. I lose a little bit and thats it.

I am concerned it will not help me to lose enough weight to get to where I want to be (180)

So I'm only pre-op but I had this same question. It was a resounding "don't do the band" it apparently comes with a lot of issues and surgeons aren't performing them as they once were. Of not the sleeve, may be just do bypass? .

Sent from my SM-G935T using the BariatricPal App

@@nothingmoreorless That's very odd your insurance only covers LapBand. My surgeon doesn't recommend LapBand due to 50-60% of people require a secondary surgery due to complications. It is also the lowest % of weight loss option. What insurance plan do you have?

@@CrissyCakes