Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

VGS 2011 - Weight gain in the last year. Looking to lose 50+ lbs

Hi All!

My name is Jennifer. I am 44 years old. I am a wife and mother of 2 boys (24 and 16). I live outside of Houston, Texas and help run our family owned trucking company where I am a bookkeeper, sales manager, and A/R supervisor (we are that small LOL!).

​I had my VGS in October of 2011. I went from my highest weight of 308 (as far as I know - I don't know many who want to check the scale regularly at that weight :o ) to my lowest post surgery weight of 213 in 2012. I had hit a plateau in between and began training with a former college running back. I was doing well. Around 2013 I ran into a series of health setbacks. I was able to maintain my wait or close to it (didn't go over 217) for well over a year, perhaps 2.

Within the past year I began gaining weight. I am currently struggling with this, and this is why I have come here. I am looking for advice, accountability, and to be a good WLS buddy to anyone who needs one. I am interested in what you guys are doing to meet your goals, what successes and what slip ups you may have dealt with, and how you are getting back on track now.

Today is my first day here, and I can't wait to hear the journeys you have been on! I welcome any advice, shared experiences, or whatever you may have to offer! Thanks for having me!

Jen

good on you for catching it quickly, if your current weight statistics are up to date!

what kind of food do you eat - meals, Snacks, etc? do you prepare your food ahead of time or just kind of wing it day to day?

what kind of exercise suits you? we've got people here who like all different kinds of things, so you're sure to find a kindred spirit.

Jen,