Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Hello! Im new to Bariatric Pal. I am trying to get some information on CHAMPVA and if they covered your surgery. I Was truely wondering how long the attempts to lose weight before had to be. I have tried many diets in the past and never successfully kept weight off or lost more than maybe 10% of body weight. I have one attempt on record with my doctor of like 3 months ... and maybe one of a month. Im wondering what everyone else has had and been able to get approved for. Im afraid i go thru with the surgery and get stuck with a huge bill cause CHAMPVA doesnt want to cover cause i didnt have accurate history. Thank you In advance!!!

I wanted I

I wanted to give everYone who goes looking for info on chanpva an answer. I found out that there is no pre-approval, all you have to have is a bmi of 40 or greater or a bmi of 35 to 40 with 2 Co-morbidity such as diabetes, high blood pressure, heart disease. You also need to have proof that you have tried under a doctor's care to lose the weight with a diet plan such as weight watchers. Other than that you can have the surgery tomorrow and it would be covered.

Hi, Im new here, this is actually my first post. I have CHAMPVA as my only insurance. I am also confused by what they mean by doctor supervised weight loss. I tried weight watchers, 21 day fix, Keto, etc.. Ive been to a nutritionist a few years ago, but I didn't go to the doctor very regularly for them to "supervise" So I am also worried about getting denied. May I also ask what surgery you had?

I sent you a personal message :)