Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Five Months Progress with Pics

The last five months has most certainly been a roller coaster. It has felt harrowing at times. I under estimated the profound effect that losing weight would have on me. It is an intense process, staying present with my quickly changing body.

Things, things I have been hiding away under a lot of weight for many years rise to the surface to be processed as my fat cells break open on my body shrinks. Sadness I've held in my belly. Rage I wrapped around my hips. Grief that has laid heavy upon my chest. The peak of mountains in the landscape of my body just starting to show, formally submerged in a sea of fat. Instances of sudden ecstatic joy.

Glitches, and translating what I see in the mirror into what I remember of myself. The delay in processing real time changes in my body.

Yesterday, my family came to visit me. I hadn't seen some of them in a couple of months. They went on anon over hours of time and how astonish they were at my weight loss. They insisted on photographing me. And when I looked at the picture, that was the first time I actually saw that my body is starting to look like now. So I wanted to share.

post-260601-14615060000206_thumb.jpg

Just look at that smile in your "during"!

You look amazing. Going through the posts or pre/post op there r so many varied experiences. I am scheduled 5/17 for the sleeve and I am still not 100% about my decision. To top it off, my best friend has lost 35 lbs doing a meal supplement diet and exercise regimen these past 6 months. She looks awesome and I feel rotten because I am opting to have the surgery instead. I feel like I am letting myself down for not being able to do this like she has. Finding this forum is my way of trying to make that final decision of going through with the survey. Any regrets? Words of advice from anyone?

Sent from my iPhone using the BariatricPal App