Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Doctor Discouraged Lap Band Procedure

I went to a seminar last night that the doctor discouraged the Lap Band, and was pushing the sleeve. I have some medical conditions that require me to be on blood thinners, so I feel the best option for me is the Band. I am only beginning the process of finding doctors and deciding if this is good for me. The doctor said when I asked why he was discouraging the Lap Band he said it is in-effective. Reading the success on the forums I am not seeing that, and I know someone that is having success over 4 years now. Is there any one long term with the band that can tell me your thoughts. Is the band worth getting?? I can loose, I can't keep it off so I'm hoping the Band will take care of that. Any one have any thoughts. Success ? Failures? What is your opinion of the Lap Band, would you do it again or choose another surgery?

Margaret

I'm 5 years plus with the Lap band....

I don't have any experience with other procedures...but I can say the Lap Band does have a high rate of unsuccessful results....

Question is, is it the band's fault? (there are possible complications with all the procedures)

My feeling is that the patient has too much control over how the band works.

If you don't like something, you can change it.

If you wish to eat any foods you wish, you can change it. If you want to eat more than you should, you can change that also. You can control what you think is the correct comfort level....

Staff at my Surgeon's office, would tell me stories about people asking for adjustments to the band for all sorts of reasons...

They are going on vacation and want to enjoy eating more....their son's/daughter's wedding is coming up and they want their band loosened....the holidays are approaching..they miss pizza, etc, etc.