Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Fear of Losing

Hey guys I'm new to BP. I'm in the process of getting cleared for VSG. I have been reaching & getting inspiration from various sources. I know it may seem a little superficial but I'm extremely worried about loose skin after surgery. I've seen some after pics that scared the s**t out of me. I get it, loose skin should be the least of my concern. But I think about it a lot. I've seen people who have tighten back up easily with no evidence of ever being overweight then there are others with extra baggage. I've read where Protein, Water intake, weight training and other things can reduce excess loose skin. There's even a new show on TLC titled "Skin Tight" where women get plastic surgery. I'm just interested about women's perspectives/remedies for loose skin.

FYI: I may be overly conscious because I'm a single young lady who has to deal with this generation's dating scene. ???? don't be too harsh.

Hi.....and welcome to the forum. I like to tell new folks that opinions and tact will vary, but we mean well.

At the age of 64, i do have some droop, but not enough to make plastic surgery worth spending my Social Security on. If I had money to burn, maybe I would, but I don't have to impress anyone.

However, if I were younger with decades of dating and relationships ahead of me, I would start saving money for plastics. Most insurance plans only cover the skin removal if the surgeon can prove medical necessity, like infection under the skin that does not respond to other treatments.

I have not heard of anyone's insurance willing cover the Tummy Tuck, which is surgical tightening of the lower abdominal muscles. Both procedures are pretty drastic, but I think of all of our bariatric brothers and sisters on this forum, who have had the surgery, few if any have expressed any regret.