Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

New to all the things!

Hi...

I hope this is the best place to introduce myself. I'm new to all of this stuff still, although I've been thinking about it since March or April.

I'm in the research stage, although hopefully coming to the end of it soon. I've been reading here, various clinic sites, studies, etc so that I'm as informed as I can be.

I've struggled with weight for my whole life... I was an Atkins success story around 2008, but that quickly turned to a nightmare turning the 120 I lost into a 160 gain. I hit rock bottom a couple of summers ago being diagnosed with type II and blood pressure so high they almost called the squad. The type II diagnosis scared the hell out of me... I have a family member who is so type II they have an insulin pump and eat what they want. That kicked me into gear and I started eating better and exercising. I was down 60, but I've put some of that back on due to several stressors in my life.

My diabetes is largely managed. My doc was happy with my progress, but I've not had much lasting success on the weight loss front. I made an off-handed comment to him "now if I can only get the weight off". His response was "Have you considered surgery?" Needless to say, after another couple of talks with him, here I am. :)

I'm leaning towards surgery... on paper it all makes sense. I just am trying to figure out if I'm trading one set of problems for a different set that are more difficult for me. I also feel a bit like I'm cheating... that I'm taking the easy way out. I know it's not, and that it's a lot of work.

Well, anyway, here I am, looking forward talking with everyone.

Hi and welcome!