Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Hello all,

I am just beginning the planning process. I have Wellmark Blue cross blue shield Iowa via state employment. I am so afraid that I will get denied or that it will all get postponed until I chicken out.

I have been to the doctor occasionally for depression and thyroid monitoring but other than that I only have one supervised diet attempt and that was for 2 months only. I have tried several diets but none have been truely successful and long term. Any tips on getting started and seeing this happen in the next year?

Thanks!

Welcome Bug, I am fairly new myself, but there are tons of people here who have been there where you are or are currently going through. Being able to just browse and has been great for me. With regard to insurance, I can't say much because I am self pay, but good luck to you on your journey.

I'm a newbie too. Everyone here seems very knowledgeable and supportive.

What about thinking of your reasons why?

I'm scared of not being approved too but I won't know if I don't explore it.

12 months ago I was on my first month of 6 month period to satisfy insurance requirements. I weighed 335 lbs and took medication for high blood pressure. Today I weigh 213 and take no medication.

Here are my tips:

1. Try and learn as much as you can about the operation

2. Try to adopt the diet/lifestyle ahead of the operation as much as you can

3. Don't let the process overwhelm you

4. Learn what the steps of the process and then only focus on the next step

It can feel overwhelming when looked at as a whole, but if you break it down it becomes less intimidating. Best of luck to you!

Welcome! You are at the beginning of quite an adventure.

My advice?

Practice being both patient and persistent. Don't let the pre-op process discourage you, it really is designed to make sure you are as prepared as possible for a safe and successful surgery.