Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

More carbs for intense exercise

I am 4 months post-op and finally got serious about exercise today by meeting with a trainer and setting up some appointments. It was a tough workout of things like kettleballs and using body as resistence, etc. and even put me on a 15 incline (max on the treadmill) and asked me to do that for 10 minutes. Um, no. Have you seen me? Clearly she missed the part where I was a beginner and she definitley didn't understand anything about the bypass. Did my weight, body fat, etc. and said I should be eating 2500 calories a day and again, nope. I am not going to follow that bit of advice obviously, BUT I do know I am going to have to get more than the 700 calories and 30 g carbs per day (thats total carb not net). Where I get very confused (and I feel like I have kind of posted similar to this in the past) is what does "good carb" really mean and how do we accomplish that without pushing calories too high?

Oh and the only time I could meet with her was 7 a.m. She said I have to eat or at least have a shake first, but I have to take Synthroid in the mornings and wait an hour for food (which a shake counts as). She suggested half an apple and some Peanut Butter to be followed by a shake after the workout but that means I am going to have to get up at 5:30 to take the med, wait an hour and then have time to eat half an apple which is not something I can just scarf down quickly (not that I can scarf anything down quickly really). PS I really HATE getting up that early...