Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Newbie here... W/great expectations hoping they're realistic

I have started this journey with great expectations. I have went to the seminar & had my consult w/ surgeon, which I adored. I had my psych eval yesterday & start nutritionist visits next week... Hoping for surgery in December. Pushing 300lbs. Have yo-yo'd for about 10 years losing 10-80lbs... Have gained 46 in the last year & a half, lost 10 last month. Lucky enough to not have any other major health issues yet. Mostly just shame & embarrassment that I let myself get in this shape... Leading to depression & seclusion myself from the outside world which is hard with kiddos & you have to force yourself to be happy & fake. I miss who I used to be & am ready to get to know her again... Hello confidence & self esteem. Anyone else just wanna hide? Even from themselves?

Hi there,

I read tour post and completely empathize with as I feel the same way. I am just shy of 300lbs, and am still active, but not like I used to be. I have two young kids and I avoid doing things because I am ashamed of my size. I feel so reclusive and isolated. I want to really start living again, which is why I have finally decided that barbaric surgery might be the answer. I am still looking at where to get it done. I am from Canada and the wait here is 2-5 years. I am looking at trying to find a private clinic in the US or in Mexico. Scared though of leaving my country for surgery...

Congrats on making the decision! From everything I have read on these sites, everyone is happy they went through with the surgery.

Hope all goes well with your surgery!