Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Why do we have to diet?

I had my surgery three weeks ago and this might seem like basic knowledge for everyone here but i didn't go threw any preoperative classes and had no education about this but the the things i read here or what i google online, my surgeon assumed that I understand everything since I'm a nurse but I'm a pediatric nurse and have no experience with bariatric surgeries.

I mainly have 2 questions I can't understand. first, why do we have to force ourselves to drink the Proteins? What happens if i just eat whatever i can. And why do have to care about calorie intake and avoid carbs and sugars in the beginning while we only can fit so little. If i eat a high calorie spoon of anything it should balance my intake since I barely eat anything else. I do take my Vitamins but im not taking much Protein and im just grabbing whatever i can eat and make me satisfied. Im eating chocolates and ice creams and mashed potatoes and i know its wrong but why is it so wrong? Why do i have to follow a diet?