Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

A year later and still having a hard time. Need your opinion

Hello Everyone !

I was sleeved a year ago after going through gastric band first 6 years ago.

I am finding it hard to eat. I have major heartburn so still taking Omeprazol each morning, i am kind of under weight now and still cant get food down easily. At time even liquids are hard to keep down as something is blocking the passage.

Anyone has experienced this before ? and will it ever get better ?

I hear people talking about weight gain and some people can eat all kinds of things few months after surgery, which makes me wonder why i am suffering this much a year after my surgery?

What is your experience and what do you think???

I am not a medical professional. I can say that if I were in your situation, I would be checking with my surgeon and/or PCP and asking to be assessed for a stricture or other post-op complication, because that does not sound normal to me based on what I read here, see in my support group, or hear from my medical team about what to expect. I would not waiting around for my symptoms to go away on their own. I think that's actually very dangerous.

Thank you for your comment. I spoke to my Dr and he said it is ok it is normal just try to eat only soft foods.

i am starting to doubt if it is normal or not ?

All the problems you list COULD be related to the acid, which isnt that abnormal. It would be a good precautionary step to get some imaging done just in case. But if your surgeon is confident, then it's your call whether you want a second opinion.

Acid can swell up the esophogus and slow down the movement of food. Does it get better when you take the acid blockers? Does it feel like food is stacking up before the stomach (intense, focused discomfort)? Are you chewing things up really well and eating slowly?