Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Calling all nurses!

Any nurses out there pre or post op want to share their stories? I am a nurse and am a little apprehensive to share too much at work for the fear of being judged. These days there are more and more fat nurses and majority of my coworkers are super fit and have impeccable eating habits and cannot relate with my struggles. Any stories or suggestions would be appreciated.

Hello fellow RN!!

I am a nurse working in a hospital that performs WLS. There are many staff members that have had VGS which makes it helpful.

I just completed my last of my 6 month required MD supervised diet and exercise program today!! I meet with my surgeon for my preop visit on Thursday and his RN tomorrow for teaching. They will submit to insurance on Friday for final approval.

I have a tentative surgery date of August 25th!!

I am so excited!! It's been a long 6 months. I have a lot of support from the fellow sleevers as well as from staff that know I'm having the surgery. My BMI is 40.

Where are you at in this WLS process?

Hello! :-)

While not a nurse, I do work in a hospital in the admissions department, and love the fantastic team that I have. Today, it seemed that it was really hard for me to just get thru it. I was struggling a bit, after all, go to 'lunch' and you are surrounded by p eople actually eatting food, and I am not (in my preop liquid stage). I felt at one point, I had to wipe the drool from my face before I made a mess on the table. Instead of me sitting there, bummed, and one of the nurses came, grabbed me and said hey lets go for a walk. It felt wonderful.

I go on FMLA Saturday, and to say that I have had a tremendous support, well, it is overwhelming. I guess working for a very small hospital in a small town with a 8 bed ED, 20 bed facilty, means that we get along pretty well.

Ironically, this is not the same with my family. To them, this is a terrible thing that I am doing.