Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Hello all,

I'm new to this page and to this whole experience. I just had the sleeve performed on Wednesday morning. I have been morbidly obese since at least 7 years old. I remember earning the name "miss piggy" in my 1st grade weigh in at school when I weighed over 100 pounds. I have struggled with weight my entire life. I still remember going into junior high and asking my mother if I stayed a size 18w for the rest of my life if I would be normal some day. I think of these events and my heart breaks for my own kids. I love my parents but they held great responsibility for my weight issues at such a young age.

Anyway, I have tried every diet and have even lost over 100 lbs on two separate occasions, but even at my lowest weights I was still morbidly obese. I turned to bulimia in my mid 20d and instead of losing weight caused severe physical problems. It took a lot to finally decide to proceed with this surgery and I still wake up some days terrified, hoping I made the right decision.

I do not know many who have gone through this and honestly ashamed to talk openly with friends and family about it. I know this is a personal issue I will need to get over, but for now I am hoping a support group like this may help.

If there's anyone along the same time frame as me, age (I'm 30 years old living in the Pacific Northwest and have two children, ages 9 & 5) I would love to make some friends with similar experiences.

Welcome aboard and best of luck on your journey to health!

Wow! I'm glad you shared your story! I live on the east coast and I had surgery on Wednesday as well! How's the adjustment going for you?I'm finding it hard to sleep on my side.

Quany - It's been rough but so far it seems to get a bit better each day. To be honest I've slept a LOT! I struggled getting in fluids yesterday but hopefully today will be better. How about you? Any tips or tricks making it easier for you?