Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Any Real Research on Post Op Guidelines?

There is such a huge spectrum of guidelines given to patients after surgery, I wondered if anyone knows of a study that addresses this. I have spent hours reading forums and websites and YouTube videos and my program is way on the paranoid rigid end. I am following what they've directed me to do but goodness sakes, I've been on liquids for almost 4 weeks now, am 1 1/2 weeks post op with 3 more weeks of liquids to go. I am starting to go nuts but don't want to disobey orders. TIA

I haven't seen any studies. That said, although I am a researcher by nature and profession, I didn't really care if there were studies or not. I was on liquids for four weeks post-op, too, so I feel your pain! But I had to tell myself, if I could research my way to good eating habits and a healthy weight, I would have done it and not ended up over 350 lbs and needing bariatric surgery. I decided to put my faith in the professionals who do actually have proven success in getting people from morbid obesity to health, and who I trusted to do major surgery on me, and not on my own apparently faulty ability to make informed decisions about eating and health. So I put me head down and followed orders . . . and it worked for me ^_^

I think the reason there can be so much variation in each surgeon's program is because each surgeon applies their own education, experience, and medical knowledge (which includes keeping up with the latest research) and incorporating it into their practice. The practice of medicine is both an art and a science.

Of course, I am not s physician so this is only my opinion.