Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Hi! Newbie here from Calgary AB, Canada. I have been following this site since before Christmas. I purchased the big gastric sleeve book & the queen of crops's book. I finally decided on a sleeve due to all the positive results, but....it will take me a year to get it done in Red Deer, on Ab Health. Longer in Calgary. I checked for docs in Canada & found one thru smart shape but it's 18,000 not including taxes, airfare (cheaper to go to the U.S. Instead of Toronto), hotel & nurse (I need a caregiver for over 48 hours). That's a LOT of $.

I don't want to go to Mexico because of allergies to certain meds, one being morphine. Since I have been reading that the nurses don't speak very good English, I would hate to flatline, as has happened to me previously on another operation. They operated using synthetic morphine but the nurses put it in my I.v. For pain. Duh....

So...help help help please. Are there any good surgeons someone can recommend, not too far from Canada & NOT from Mexico? I would really appreciate some help asap as I would like to get the sleeve. Thanks so much!!

There are definitely cheaper programs in the U.S., though most of them are going to be in the southern half of the country. Check out Dr. Umbach in Las Vegas, Dr. Michael Wood in Michigan, Dr. Borland in Louisiana, Dr. Shillingford in Florida -- those are names I have seen a lot from patients doing cash pay in the U.S. When you are discussing prices, make sure it is all-inclusive -- hospital fees, anesthesiologist, etc. Good luck!

This is the website for the Dr in Las Vegas she recommended. http://blossombariatrics.com/

If my insurance didn't cover my surgery and I had to cash pay, this is the place I would have gone. They have tons of information and their staff is very educated on nutrition.

I'm scheduled with Dr. Shillingford on 8/31.. 10k all inclusive, out of Boca Raton Florida. I'm traveling from Minnesota for the procedure.