Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Hi Everyone,

I'm a newbie. I just had my lap band out and I'm preparing for my gastric sleeve surgery in the fall. Today my husband sat me down and told me he was very worried about me having this surgery and he did not support me going through with it. I feel like I can't do it without his support. I understand that he is very concerned and worried about my health and the risk of complications - I get it. But I am so unhappy and I have tried every diet under the sun and struggled with the lap band in me for nearly 8 years (it failed.) He said that "there are some things we need to accept in life, and you being overweight is one of those things." He wants me to accept my weight and come to peace with it. I can not. I don't want to yo you diet and struggle with my weight for the rest of my life. I'm so sad he had this talk with me today. It caught me off guard because I thought he was all for it. Any advice from anyone who has gone through this with a reluctant spouse? Thank you

Just a curious question? Is your husband overweight or insecure? I'm not asking to be mean u don't have to just accept being overweight would u just accept heart disease or diabetes or a stroke? High blood pressure? High cholesterol ? there's no reason u should just accept it I can't imagine someone who cares about a person saying that It's like saying here have some sugar and fat and hey we all gotta die sometime! truth is we will all die sometime do you want to make it sooner rather than later? if u have kids do u want to see them grow up? Want to see grandchildren? Want to travel when u retire? If u get bigger and unhealthy will u be able? Will u have any quality of life? So he isn't comfortable with this? Is he going to get comfortable if u can't walk or have a stroke helping u bathe? Eat walk etc drive u everywhere if it would come to that? I sure hope so cuz it sure isn't going to be comfortable for you