Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

I'm new to this whole process. I signed up for my seminar this past Thursday and was all excited. Then on Friday I decided I would call my insurance and see what my coverage was. Turns out it's not covered at all. Total let down. I'm only 24 and weigh 364 so it took a lot of courage to even make the appointment. I carry my weight we'll and am completely happy in my life but I want to get healthy. A lot of diseases run in my family and I know I'm headed down that road if I don't change something. What are my options now? I see that it's cheaper to go to Mexico but how do you make that decision? When you say that out loud it raises an eye brow.

There are a lot of people on this forum who went to Mexico and have had great results. @@JamieLogical may be able to give you some guidance as she has done a lot of research in that area.

Good Luck to you. Congratulations on making that appointment.

One more thought- have you looked into changing insurance? You could start a plan like weight watchers now which has the weekly weigh ins and keep a diary of your activity and by the time you had the new plan you would have some of the requirements met...

No I hadn't thought about changing insurances. Not sure where to start with that. My current insurance is through my employer. Ive lost 40 lbs this year and gained 20 back because I quit watching what I ate and going to the gym. I went to a weight watchers meeting once but didn't like the crowd. I used my fitness pal.

Go to your employer and tell them about your desire to get healthy. Ask them to investigate getting a rider that will cover weight loss surgery. Over your lifetime, paying for the surgery will be far cheaper than paying for your healthcare for weight-related problems.