Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Post # 1 guys.

Decided to introduce myself here instead of one of the generic pre-op boards. I am just beginning this journey towards weight loss surgery. I am unsure if I will have the surgery. Deep down I know that I need it. 1/2 my family is against it, and 1/2 are for it. Both camps want to talk me over to their side and right now I am caught in the middle.

I met with my doctor 2 weeks ago to discuss my “situation”.

My doctor recommended weight loss surgery.

I went to the seminar last week and it was very informative.

Today I got my blood results and I have high cholesterol and low "T".

2 years ago I was diagnosed with sleep apnea and given a CPAP machine.

I am 5′7″ and I weigh 297 pounds.
I need to lose the equivalent of a baby giraffe

The proper BMI for someone my height (5′7″) is between 118 - 159 lbs.

I am sure that I have a screwed up body image, but I can not imagine myself @ 159 lbs. It seems alien to me. I certainly could not imagine 118 lbs. I think I would look like a prison camp survivor. (no offense to anyone). I think I would look extremely unhealthy. But, how is that different from how I look now. I look unhealthy now. I am trying to justify a different weight. 200 sounds good. 200 is a 97 pound loss. That makes sense to me. Unfortunately 200 lbs. is still considered obese for my height. I would not be morbidly obese, but I would still be obese. I have to get to 190 lbs. before I am only overweight.

This is a lot to wrap my head around.

Thanks for letting my vent and release as a way of introduction. I am not normally a "whiner".

When I am not pouring my guts out on weight loss boards, I am a Realtor in Jacksonville Florida, a Harley-Davidson motorcycle rider, and a lover of chicken wings and beer.

Mike

(BigHarleyGuy1)