Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

7 Days Post Op - Nausea & Generally Not Feeling Well

Hello, This is my first time posting as I just got banded 7 days ago! My surgery was 7 days ago and day by day the pain and gas has gotten better. However, I am extremely nauseous and very weak. In general, I am an energetic person but I can barely keep my eyes open. I feel nauseous and faint all the time.

Did anyone experience nausea and exhaustion for this long? Does it get better?

Nope. Let your doctor know.

Everyone recovers differently and at his/her own pace. This kind of fatigue sounds like something to address w/ your surgeon.

Welcome to the board, and brave on a great decision to be banded. It will get better - you are on the other side now! All you have to do is get that nausea under control and get yourself back to being yourself! Contact your surgeon asap. :)

First, I agree with the others about contacting your doctor. I have had similar experiences though, both in my last several weeks of post op, and also while doing a VLCD in the past. Generally if my calorie intake drops too low I feel very weak and lose my appetite. It could just be your body adjusting to taking in fewer calories.

Other things could be at work too. For me, taking in way fewer calories and rapidly loosing some weight made my blood pressure medication too effective.

As the others say. Phone your doctor. But it may well be just low calorie intake, after-effect of the operation itself.

Oh yes - I agree with Kate P - the nausea could be caused by being hypoglycaemic. I forgot that I had a run-in with that a few days post-op.