Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

How do you manage family gatherings?

I'm a newbie, just got sleeved a week ago. As many of us will have, a bunch of graduation parties are right around the corner, I live in Louisiana and that means everything will revolve around food. Any tips on how to remain motivated (AND SANE) when I'm still on a liquid foods phase of my plan?

I didn't want to eat anything for weeks really. Just drinking nice flavoured Water and then onto Soup was more than enough. Didn't have cravings etc and could look at all nice food and not want it. You've got to really examine what you've done this for and get yourself in the right mindset. Look at before and after pictures of people's success every day. Sort out the first bag of bigger clothes that you're never ever going to have to wear again. Get on these forums and distract yourself.

I make sure that at least twice a week I get online and look up success photos and I also look at some posts from people who have 'cheated' and are struggling to loose weight and I learn from them and that motivates me to stay on plan. It isn't always easy but forget the practicalities of what you can eat because that's easy and focus on new ways of thinking.

Good luck!

X

Be ready with your arsenal of excuses and stick to your plan.

"I ate before I came."

"No thanks! It looks great but I am not hungry."

"I'm watching what I eat. Bathing suit season is almost here!"

"My tummy is feeling a bit off today so I'd rather not eat."

"Oh, thanks!! It looks great! Maybe in a bit..."

Sip your tea, ice Water, and enjoy the company!