Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Time off work for recovery

Hi, I'm a newbie to this and haven't decided which surgery I will do but I would like to know realistically when you returned to work. I work at a very laid back job. I sit in a booth ( not a very small one) enough to stand up move around and stretch. I'm a cashier during graveyard which my shift is super duper slow. I'm trying to figure out how much time I would need away from work considering I don't work a strenuous job yet more relaxed. I know each surgery varies according to the information I researched already but I need y'all help please. What makes recovery most difficult when returning to work?

I had my surgery early Monday morning.

By thursday I was climbing the walls and had to get out and run some errands.

Was Back to work the following Monday. But was told no lifting for a few more weeks

(also started going to the gym a week later, all cleared by my Dr.)

I am banded and my recovery was very quick. At the time my Job we phaycially demanding ( I worked with teenagers with special needs and needed to be physically able to deal with emergencies like keeping up with boys trying to run away or attack people! )

I had a full week off work and then when I returned avoided strenuous activities.

In a job such as you describe, a week would have been plenty. In fact maybe even less although I did still have a few extra sleeps!

I am off this week as pto, and the next 3 as short term disability. Taking off the full 4 weeks allowed by my employer!! Gives me time to get used to this new lifestyle, and get into a routine. Plus, I have nothing to wear back to work yet. Ineed to lose a few more pounds, then I'll raid my closet.