Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

My surgeon requires us to have 100 grams of Protein each day. I'm just beginning my second week post-op, which is now full liquids. My program includes yogurt, cottage cheese, pudding, pureed Soups (no chunks), milk, Tomato juice, V8 juice, Protein smoothies, applesauce, and bananas.

Today it has been a struggle to get the 100 grams of protein, I added Protein powder to my 1/4 cup of yogurt to increase the protein content, and i DO NOT recommend it. It was disgusting. I've eaten more calories today than i have over the past week (833), just so I could get the protein in. We were told 600-800 calories are typical in the first two weeks.

On top of that, I made the mistake of weighing myself this morning, only to find that I *might* have lost 3 pounds... Feeling a little discouraged...

Anyone else struggling with dietary requirements? Protein? Calories? "Slow" weight loss?

Here's something that will ease your mind...you WILL NOT be able to get 100 grams of Protein in as early out as you are, especially on full liquids. It will be much easier when you start "real" food. Hell, I'm almost 8 months out and I still don't get 100 grams. I usually shoot for 70. You're sleeve is still super swollen right now, so just do the best you can and try not to stress so much! And stay off that scale for a while! Check it in a week or two and you will see weight loss. Sometimes fluids from surgery likes to hang on for a while and make it 'seem' like you're not losing. But you are ;)

I like the premium products the ready made bottles have 30 g of Protein each so I only need 2 to get me close(my Dr only requires 70g a day) the other protein were making me vomit. This was the only one I could keep down. It helped. You are still swollen and will see more weight loss you get your fluids in. Lots of Water. Lots. Stop weighing yourself. Wait till you go to the doctor for follow up.