Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Physically demanding job. Is two weeks off enough?

I just got confirmation for my medical leave and saw that my doctor only approved me for two weeks off. I'm a preschool teacher working with toddlers (lots of bending, lifting, getting up and down from the floor,and just general running around) and two weeks just doesn't seem like enough time! Has anyone else gone back to an active, physically demanding job after only two weeks?

Do you have a teacher's assistant? Otherwise I'd say no. Energy wise if all goes well you could return in 2 weeks, but with little people that you might have to or need to pick up, I'd say, "No" unless you have an assistant who could do the picking up and stuff. Also keep in mind you need to be able to sip for most of the day.

I know you don't want to be lifting over 10 pounds for the first 4 weeks post-op. You may be okay to go back, but you would have to modify a lot of what you do.

I work at a hospital, LOTS of picking patients up and bending over. My doctor said I could go back in 2 weeks, but I'm taking 4 weeks. I just don't want to chance it, is not worth ripping a staple in my stomach!

I would not have been ready. I went back just before 2 weeks to a desk job and that was tough enough. Although, I was very dehydrated and needed to go in for fluids that first week back to work.

I'm a RN on a busy hospital unit so lots of running etc.. For 12-13 hour shifts. I had my surgery on a Friday and went back to work on Wednesday. The girls I work with helped me with my lifting the first couple shifts then I was good after that. I was sore like I did a good workout after the second day but I was fine.