Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Any MedSurg Nurses who've been sleeved?

I'm just wondering if there are any sleevers out there who are nurses? Trying to wrap my head around being at work on a busy unit while trying to get my protein/nutrition in and take care of 5-8 patients for 12.5 hours per day. What are your tips for success?

I also am a Med/Surg RN. I am only POD 4 so I haven't yet returned to work. I am interested in what others have done to keep up on fluids & Protein while working busy 12hr shifts though.

I am an ER nurse. In the beginning, I didn't eat at work, I just drank two Protein shakes during a 12 hour shift, and sipped Water constantly. Now at almost a year out, I still bring a Protein shake to work, but only drink it if I didn't have time to eat a full meal. I also bring little Protein filled Snacks, like string cheese, that I can eat quickly while charting. I usually eat three times during a 12 hour shift, but I let my tummy dictate when they happen. Usually that's around 2130 (snack), 0100 (meal), and 0500 (snack if I ate my full meal, Protein Shake if I didn't). I always eat a full meal before heading into work, usually around 1730.

I literally never take a lunch break, I find that when I do try and eat whatever "meal" I've brought in just 30 minutes, it's a recipe for disaster. So I just eat at my work station, keep my food covered, and take bites between charting, answering call bells, getting EMS report, etc. (I work nights, so there are no "suits" around to tell me this isn't okay). I still sip Water constantly. Someone actually joked last night that he never sees me without my Tervis cup in my hand, sipping.