Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Scared, Scared, Scared - Lap Band Surgery Date coming up Jan.30, 2015

Hello Everyone!

I've been a member for a few months but this is my first time posting something. My surgery date is this Friday the 30th of Jan and I can't believe I have made it through all of the required appointments - 6 months - for insurance to approve. I've done much reading, research, asking questions and certainly gained a lot of knowledge however reality has hit like a tun of bricks and am so scared now.

Please forgive me if what I ask appears redundant but has anyone out there been so scared they felt like backing out? I'm almost to the point of writing "Goodbye Letters" - if ya know what I mean.

I could certainly use some pearls of wisdom from folks who were just like me or who are going through the same anxiety

Thank you all in advance!

Hello Everyone!

I've been a member for a few months but this is my first time posting something. My surgery date is this Friday the 30th of Jan and I can't believe I have made it through all of the required appointments - 6 months - for insurance to approve. I've done much reading, research, asking questions and certainly gained a lot of knowledge however reality has hit like a tun of bricks and am so scared now.

Please forgive me if what I ask appears redundant but has anyone out there been so scared they felt like backing out? I'm almost to the point of writing "Goodbye Letters" - if ya know what I mean.

I could certainly use some pearls of wisdom from folks who were just like me or who are going through the same anxiety

Thank you all in advance!

Hi @CC155. I'm not sure if you are scared of the surgery or of the unknown. If your fear is the surgery, the statistics show that you are overwhelmingly likely to survive with no issues at all.